Tuesday, February 5, 2013

Affirmations for the first four chakras

(These affirmations come from Anodea Judith's book:  Eastern Body, Western Mind: Psychology and the Chakra System as a Path to the Self)  

First Chakra - Muladhara
(tip of the tailbone, base of the body; element-Earth; color-red; seed sound-LAM)

It is safe for me to be here.
The earth supports me and meets my needs.
I love my body and trust its wisdom.
I am immersed in abundance.
I'm here and I'm real.

Second Chakra - Svadisthana
(lower abdomen/back; element-Water; color-orange; seed sound-VAM)

I deserve pleasure in my life.
I absorb information from my feelings.
I embrace and celebrate my sexuality.
My sexuality is sacred.
I move easily and effortlessly.
Life is pleasurable.

Third Chakra - Manipura
(solar plexus; element - Fire; color - yellow; seed sound-RAM)

I honor the power within me.
I accomplish tasks easily and efforlessly.
The fire within me burns through all blocks and fears.
I can do whatever I will to do.
*I am gemlike: solid, multifaceted, filled with light.

Fourth Chakra - Anahata
(heart center; element-Air; color-green; seed sound-YAM)

I am worthy of love.
I am loving to myself and others.
There is an infinite supply of love. 
I live in balance with others.
^My immunity is boosted by love given and received.

* This affirmation is modified from Chakra Yoga: Balancing Energy for Physical, Spiritual, and Mental Well-Being by Alan Finger with Katrina Repka 

^ This affirmation is modified from Chakra Workout: Balancing Your Energy with Yoga and Meditation by Mary Horsley