Thursday, August 23, 2012

Dharana (Concentation)

This month we have been contemplating Dharana (Concentration), the sixth of the eight limbs of yoga from Patanjali's Yoga Sutras.  We have been chanting the seed sounds of the seven chakras with awareness on those energy centers in the body as our concentration practice.  This has prepared us beautifully for seated meditation and for our asana practice.  

Having cultivated a deep awareness of the subtle body, we are prepared to proceed into asana with grace and awareness to further deepen our focus and the benefits of our practice.  When we go so deep inside, we find a space within to take refuge.  We feel our pulsation that creates a buffer or boundary and at the same time an extension of our energy and compassion to all.  With that pulsation, we can remain at peace when a challenge comes our way and choose to act skillfully rather than react from our primitive brain.  With the pulsation as a boundary, since we are so attuned to our wisdom and the universal truths, we are able to choose not to engage with people or situations that would not serve us well.

May we continue to cultivate this awareness for the benefit of ourselves and all beings.

Lokah Samastha Sukhino Bhavantu
May all beings be filled with peace and joy, love and light.

The following image is from this website.

 The following information is taken from The Daily OM - Bija Mantras.

In traditional Hatha Yoga, the seven cleansing bija mantras associated with the chakras are:

LAM for the earth chakra (1)   Root
VAM for the water chakra (2)   Sacrum
RAM for the fire chakra (3)      Solar Plexus
YAM for the heart chakra (4)
HAM for the throat chakra (5)
AUM for the third eye (6)
AH for the crown chakra (7)